Bungie The Future of Destiny 2 Begins Beyond Light

Beyond Light on September 22 with the first of three officially announced expansions
Bungie The Future of Destiny 2 Begins

The future of Bungie’s free-play action game Destiny 2 (Benchmarks) begins Beyond Light on September 22 with the first of three officially announced expansions. Following on from "Beyond Light", The Witch Queen and Lightfall are to expand the franchise with additional MMO elements in 2021 and 2022.

"More MMO Elements through Beyond Light"

It starts on 22 September with the expansion Beyond Light", which will take players under the icy surface of Jupiter’s moon as part of the new campaign and will further expand the loot shooter’s MMO alignment with its new abilities and darkness-based damage elements. Each of the three classes available in Destiny 2 also gains a new individual super-ability. One of the highlights of the first add-on is a raid in an icy crypt below the European continent. Season 11 accompanies the expansion.

In terms of its basic orientation, Destiny 2 is to be expanded more strongly in the future towards a classic MMO.

Patches for next-gen game consoles

The extension first appears for the PC, Playstation 4 and Xbox One as well as the cloud gaming service Google Stadia. According to Bungie, updates will be released in the fall, making the action game and its new expansion fit for next-gen Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X game consoles. At Microsoft, a free choice of platform is to be included thanks to smart delivery.

On Playstation 5 and Xbox Series X, Destiny 2 will run at 60 FPS and 4K, and will also support free migration of game content from the current generation to the new console. Cross-platform cross-play between PC and console players is also planned.

By autumn 2022, an expansion per year will follow

In the fall of 2021, Bungie plans to expand Witch Queen, in which Savathûn, Oryx’s sister, a new adversary emerges from the shadows. A year later, in autumn 2022, the final showdown between light and darkness will take place with the last expansion "Lightfall".

The three expansions are supposed to be a kind of trilogy in addition to the main game and tell a great storyline, which will probably reach its climax in September 2022 with Lightfall. Bungie calls this type of content expansion "Destiny Content Vault (DCV)" and lets a Destiny 3 already traded in the rumor mill move far away.

Previous Post Next Post